Brett Ratner to head Tiantan Film Award jury

It was announced on Wednesday that “Rush Hour" director Brett Ratner will preside over the seven-member jury for the Tiantan Award, a competition section of the 6th Beijing International Film Festival.

Organizers announced at a press conference in Beijing that they have invited "a number of prestigious filmmakers in the world film circle and ultimately determined the jury for this session of Tiantan Award."

The jury president Brett Ratner, who also produced this year's Academy Award-winning film "The Revenant," will work with six other jurors including Hong Kong director Teddy Chan ("Bodyguards and Assassins"), German director Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck ("The Lives of Others"), Romanian director Corneliu Porumboiu ("The Treasure"), Japanese director Yojiro Takita ("Departures"), Bosnian and Herzegovinan director Danis Tanovic ("No Man's Land") and Chinese actress Xu Qing ("Mr. Six").

Beijing Television (BTV) and the Beijing Film Academy jointly established the competition department of the Tiantan Award this year, fully relying on the professional team and industry resources of the Beijing Film Academy to organize and implement the selection of the award. The jury will decide the winners of ten awards including Best Feature Film, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Music and Best Visual Effects.

The competition department has received 433 films from 42 countries and regions for the competition section, including 230 international films and 203 domestic films. After four rounds of selection, 15 finalists have been shortlisted for the 10 awards.

Three countries have two films respectively on the list to enter the competition. Two Chinese films, notably, the comedy-drama film "Go Away Mr. Tumor" by Han Yan and martial arts film "The Master" by Xu Haofeng, two Spanish movies, "A Perfect Day" by Fernando León de Aranoa and "Breathless Time" by Samuel Martin Mateos and Andres Luque Perez as well as two Danish movies, "Under sandet" ("Land of Mine") by Martin Zandvliet and "Idealisten" ("The Idealist") by Christina Rosendahl have been included.

The remaining films that were shortlisted are "Aferim!" by Radu Jude from Romania, "Die dunkle Seite des Mondes" ("The Dark Side of the Moon") by Stephan Rick from Germany, "Golden Years" by John Miller from the United Kingdom, "Grand Unified Theory" by David Ray from Canada, "Я учитель"(I Am A Teacher) by Sergey Mokritsky from Russia, "Klezmer" by Piotr Chrzan from Poland, "Moira" by Levan Tutberidze from Georgia, "La patota" (Paulina) by Santiago Mitre from Argentina, and "La dernière leçon" ("The Final Lesson") by Pascale Pouzadoux from France.

The winners will be announced at the closing ceremony of the Beijing film festival which will run from April 16 - 23, 2016.

No comments:

Post a Comment