Neil Young among Roskilde Festival's final line-up

North Europe's largest music festival, the Roskilde Festival, unveiled on Wednesday its final line-up of 105 new acts that include the rock legend Neil Young.

Neil Young, together with his band Promise of the Real, will "expose a new generation of festival-goers to his impressive back catalogue with a string of hits that have influenced and shaped rock history over the past 40 years," the Roskilde Festival wrote on its website.

The 70-year-old Canadian rocker took to the festival's iconic Orange Stage eight years ago and "gave his fans a lesson in rock history," according to the festival organizer.

Wednesday's revelation brings the final line-up of the eight-day musical event to 179 acts from more than 30 countries.

Other names added to the bill on Wednesday include heavy metal stalwarts Slayer, French electronic outfit M83, James Blake, Future and Santigold.

Previously, the organizer has announced the participation of performers include Red Hot Chili Peppers, LCD Soundsystem, New Order, Wiz Khalifa and Tame Impala.

The festival will run from June 25 to July 2 in the outskirt of Roskilde, some 35 kilometers west of Copenhagen, with an expected audience of 130,000.

Created in 1971, the Roskilde Festival was initially known as the Roskilde Sound Festival. Its first edition featured 13 performances.

The musical event has since been run by the Roskilde Foundation, a non-profit organization committed towards the development and support of music, culture and humanitarian causes. The profit from the festival ticket sales will be donated to charity.

No comments:

Post a Comment